

President's Report Association of Program Coordinators in Radiology November 2013

2013 Board Members:

Lynn Lammers - President Marlene Viola - Member-at-Large
Mandy Velligan - President-Elect Sally Jones - Member-at-Large
Hollie Medina - Secretary/Treasurer Stella Martinez - Member-at-Large
Kathy Dixon - Immediate Past President Sylvia Zavatchen - Member-at-Large

Willo Sullivan and Joseph Stuckelman were chosen to be Alternate Board Members-at-Large.

Awards Committee

Pauline Marek, Texas A&M College of Medicine – Scott & White Program was chosen the 2012 Outstanding Coordinator.

Fellowship Ad Hoc Committee

After the annual AUR meeting in Los Angeles, we recently formed an Ad Hoc Committee for those coordinators who are primarily fellowship coordinators.

The goal for this committee is to be able to discuss with one another on ways we can improve our fellowship programs, prepare ourselves for upcoming changes/challenges and overall network between one another.

Thus far, we have a total of 9 coordinators who serve on this committee.

Finance Committee

As of June 30, 2013, the APCR has \$4,416 excess revenue over expenses and net assets of \$76,613.

Long Range Planning Committee

The group has worked closely with the Professional Development Committee to assist with the development of a job description and monthly tasks guide for coordinators. This will assist in defining area tools that will need to be added to our handbook and update existing ones to comply with the changing requirements. The Website Committee has given APCR a new web look that will continue to build upon. The Committee will meet by the end of the year to discuss further topic additions and distribution of content sections for updates.

Membership Committee

As of October, 2013, there are 182 APCR members.

Mentoring Committee

The Mentoring Committee continues to work with the Membership Committee to pair new members with mentors. The purpose of the Committee is to provide networking opportunities and promote career development. There are 19 members of the Committee. The mentoring and membership committees are planning to host a meet and greet event at the AUR meeting for new APCR members.

Professional Development Committee

The committee prepares quarterly newsletter. Members are asked to submit newsworthy items prior to the June, September, January and March publication dates.

The committee is discussing the coordinator's job description. A job template was provided to the attendees of the ACGME annual conference. This will be used by the PDC to revise job description posted on the website dated October 2006.

Other projects the PDC members are working on include: the monthly job description; the handbook for coordinators and certificates of attendance to APCR sessions at AUR.

The committee has 17 members.

Program Planning Committee

The Program Planning Committee has created a very exciting agenda for the upcoming meeting in Baltimore, MD. Our main focus will be on the Milestones in which we have two sessions planned; one geared for residency and the other on fellowship programs. We also have representatives from the ACGME who will give an update and answer questions. There will also be two sessions on professional development for the program coordinator for Friday, April 4th. And lastly during our business meeting, we will have a Social Media/Electronic Update.

RRC Committee

The Committee continues to work with the Program Directors Support Committee on matters concerning Program Directors and Program Coordinators and ACGME issues.

Rules Committee

The newly created Rules Committee is in the process of reviewing the APCR Rules of Operation. In accordance with the Rules of Operation, any recommended changes will be presented to the Board of Directors by the President for approval. If the recommended changes are approved by the Board, they will be presented to the members for ratification at the annual meeting in April 2014. Notice of any proposed changes will be given to the members at least 14 days in advance of the meeting.

Scholarship Committee

The scholarship award is currently \$2,000.00. Applications will be sent out on Thursday, January 2, 2014. The deadline will be February 14, 2014 with a notification to the winner sent on February 28, 2014. The committee will not be hosting a silent auction at the 2014 AUR meeting. Instead, the committee would like to plan for a celebration honoring APCR's 15 year anniversary at AUR in New Orleans. The committee has 14 members.

Survey Committee

In May, the survey committee distributed an evaluation of the 2013 APCR sessions offered at AUR. The committee has proposed to construct an annual survey to collect information relevant to program coordinators that could be tracked over time (i.e. coordinator turnover, job responsibilities, compensation, residency management software, etc.).

The committee currently has 9 members.

TAGME Certification

The TAGME Certification Review Board for Diagnostic Radiology includes the following members:

Gloria Jorge, Chair Sherry Bucholz Kathy Dixon Lynn Lammers Pauline Marek Madeline Mateo

Lois Shuman Tammi Teeters-McDade

The committee revised both the WET and the MAT to reflect the new ACGME requirements for 2013, and the new revised assessments were administered for the Spring 2013. A Fall 2013 assessment was not administered this year due to the ACGME NAS changes and requirements in Diagnostic Radiology. The WET and MAT will be revised, once again, to reflect these new changes and the assessments will be administered in the Spring of 2014.

This year the original TAGME Task Force group (2009-2013) was to sit for the Maintenance of Certification assessment. However, due to the NAS changes and the assessment for Diagnostic Radiology being put on hold until 2014, the MOC deadline will be extended until 2014 for the original task force group, and the MOCs will be taken in the Fall of 2014. Application for MOC will be between March 1-May 30, 2014.

To date, we have <u>26</u> TAGME certified radiology coordinators.

The Committee will continue to assist members who are interested in the certification process. TAGME certification is completely voluntary and the APCR does not mandate certification for its members.

Website Committee

All APCR presentations from the 2013 AUR meeting for which permission has been received have been posted to the website.

A closed group for APCR members has been created on LinkedIn. To date 46 members have joined the group. There are several active discussions taking place, including Milestones, recruitment, moonlighting, CCC and PEC written descriptions and ACGME case logs.

An APCR GoogleDrive has been created for members to share documents. Approval is not required to upload documents. Documents, policies and evaluations related to NAS and Milestones have been shared.

The re-designed APCR website has gone live.

The committee's ongoing project is to maintain the website. There are no other projects at this time.

Lynn Lammers, C-TAGME President, APCR